Clear and concise writing is hard to find these days.   Collectively we don’t know how to express our thoughts or meaning into the written word any more.

I had the good fortune to work under a passionate editor early in my career.  She provided meticulous feedback on everything I wrote and I am a better writer because of it.

I also benefited from a word count restriction that forced me to be very judicious with the words I used.  Think Twitter without emoticons or abbreviations.

When I came across this article recently I knew I had to share it immediately.  “Strong writing is lean writing.”  The author recommends cutting 10 words from your writing.  Below is one example.

1. Just: The word “just” is a filler word that weakens your writing. Removing it rarely affects meaning, but rather, the deletion tightens a sentence.

Cutting these words will change the way you express yourself in writing.  Give it a try and see what happens.

 

 

