This morning I read yet another article on the impact Millennials will have on the workplace.  This time the focus was the training implications.  While the author clearly has thought through the learning options and preferences of Millennials, I found myself asking if they justified the wholesale revision of instructional strategies.

Full disclosure: I believe in the basics and am not easily persuaded by calls for new strategies. I am especially wary if those changes put the medium ahead of the learning need.  I have experience working with Allen Communication.  I respect their work and perspective.  However, the have an interest in selling “learning solutions.”  Without questioning their motives, one must bear that in mind.

Before revising its learning strategy, every organization needs to understand their culture and how learning fits into their overall strategy.  Only after considering the needs of the organization should one consider changing their learning strategy to focus on the learning needs and preferences of a particular audience.

