Sensei Graphic

I just learned about a new WordPress plug-in called Sensei (H/T Edudemic via LinkedIn).  For an introductory price of $79 (regularly $99) you can use WordPress tools to present content and track your learners’ progress.

I don’t have time to do a thorough review of the system but I did some poking around.  My initial reactions are below.

  • It is only an LMS.
  • Content is published using existing WordPress tools.  It does offer templates that utilize these tools.  This could simplify the formatting and presentation of your content.
  • Assessment tools are limited to multiple choice and true false questions.  I did not see examples of longer form responses.  This limits what can be presented to lower order content (knowledge and comprehension).
  • I did not see an example of the administration screens so I don’t know how student information is presented and managed.
  • It appears another plug-in must be purchased to handle registration.  I assume this means the student list cannot be imported or independently managed.
  • It is not SCORM compliant though they are planning to support SCORM in later releases.
  • It is not clear if it has tools for communicating with students.

If you are in the market for a low-cost LMS, Sensei is worth looking into.  For the price, it appears to be worth researching to see if it meets your needs.  Leveraging existing WordPress tools provides a lot of flexibility.  I think this “platform” is best suited for small-scale learning.  I expect that additional costs would be required to launch a large learning initiative.

I would caution anyone to do research on learning management systems and SCORM before doing any research on a specific product.  Like any software investment it is best to know your needs first before looking for a solution.  Throughout the selection process you may reassess your situation but you don’t want to do both at the same time.

