I was reflecting on how I measure success this morning as I was reviewing an announcement for a new promotion.  In the announcement we wanted to provide background information, build enthusiasm, and remind recipients of a new process.  With such a variety of information success could be measured many ways.  From a training standpoint there is only one measure that matters, execution.

My part in ensuring successful execution was making sure the message was communicated clearly.  Other people put the promotional elements together but I took responsibility for compiling the right information and assembling it in a succinct message.

I firmly believe in brevity.  Some would say I am too brief.  I can live with that.  However, if the recipients do not understand what is expected of them your plan will not achieve its expectations.  Nothing will undermine enthusiasm faster than poor execution and nothing is more frustrating finding out you did not communicate the right information.  I can tell you from experience.

