Warning:  This is a Self-Indulgent Post

Many coffee snobs say they can only drink the dark brews at Starbucks or Peet’s, and that anything else tastes like dishwater.

It has been said that confession is good for the soul.  In that spirit, I realize now that I am a bit of a coffee snob.  I didn’t realize it when I lived in California but that was probably because I was surrounded by like-minded people.  I would not equate Maxwell House or Folgers to dishwater but I definitely prefer Peet’s.  Perhaps my taste in coffee is due to my ancestry.  According to this article “light-roasted coffee, brewed strong, is the norm in Northern Europe, including Germany and Scandinavia.”

Some people believe there is a relationship between coffee and performance.  While I think the relationship between caffeine and performance is overblown.  I don’t get jittery and can drink espresso at all hours.  I can even drink coffee late at night and still sleep soundly.  I realize I am the exception and its hard to deny that coffee has an distinct affect on a person’s behavior.

If you believe coffee is the key to you being at top performance you may enjoy learning how to stay “optimally wired”.  Here is an radio program I heard last week that covered the latest trend in coffee, light roasts, and what the future may bring for coffee lovers.

UPDATE: After reading the comments I came across the image below.  As much as I love coffee, I haven’t gone this far.

